International Sanskrit Examination Resource 

A Level Syllabus

This examination has now been discontinued. Please refer to side menu for information about the new Higher Level (Post IGCSE) examination.


The A Level examination is a 'stand alone' examination providing an additional qualification to the AS Level. It provides more advanced study than the AS Level.

A Level Grades from 2010 onwards: A* - E

Please note that new set texts are listed in this latest syllabus for 2010 onwards.

 A Level Syllabus 2010 onwards 

Vocabulary: There is no specifically defined vocabulary for A Level; it is assumed that a student has acquired a wide-ranging sense of Sanskrit vocabulary by this stage. At the very least, students are advised to ensure that the AS Level defined vocabulary list is known, as well as the vocabulary which appears in set texts. 


Last update: 7.8.19